Cardiff Devils forced to wait for new home

Koop11

Not a big surprise, especially after the news just before Christmas that the Bay Pointe project was being thrown out. It is now in black and white that we will be in the tent for several years.

Hopefully, this is the call for the Council to invest a much smaller amount of money into improving the temporary facility. That structure will not last several years in its current state. That is a fact we all know. Cladding and reinforcement will be needed and from a Devils point of view, we’ll certainly require investment into increasing the tents hospitality facilities. How on earth you do that with the current structure I do not know.

My only major concern with the tent from day one as been the sightlines. It’s a hard battle bring fans in when you cannot see a third of the ice from some of the seats. The way the stairways are located block peoples view also. I’m no civil engineer but I would imagine the cost of trying to fix this particular problem would be more than rebuilding the thing all over again.

The recent economic crisis has hurt all local authorities across the country and in fairness to the CCC, they could not have predicted what has happened. That said, this highlights their total disregard of the skating community when they decided to let cowboys build the tent at a minimal cost. It’s now bitten us on the bum. I think many fans could cope with the poor sightlines for the 3-5 years from opening but we’re probably looking at 10 years in the tent from start to finish.

I think any regeneration work to the tent will depend a lot of who obtains the lease when its due for renewal later this year.

Chris

Administrator
I can already hear El Supremo wailing... ;)

Hopefully Matt Burge can get the lease for the rink, presumeably with the income from public skating and whatever else it would make improvements a lot more likely?