Sheffield Steelers Vs Devils - Sat 16 Sep 2017 - League - Chat/Updates

KaneDevils

I'm not an expert on the rules of the game, far from it, but am I right in saying the call for the penalty shot was incorrect?
My understanding is a penalty shot is called when the attacking player is impeded resulting in not being able to get the shot away.
Phillips(?) quite clearly gets the shot away.

dave

I'm not an expert on the rules of the game, far from it, but am I right in saying the call for the penalty shot was incorrect?
My understanding is a penalty shot is called when the attacking player is impeded resulting in not being able to get the shot away.
Phillips(?) quite clearly gets the shot away.
RULE 171 – AWARDING A PENALTY SHOT/BREAKAWAY

1. If an attacking skater is on a breakaway and is fouled by an opponent from behind, or by the opposing goaltender, the skater will be awarded a penalty shot.

2. If the skater loses control or possession of the puck after being fouled, the referee will stop game action and award a penalty shot.

Last night will come under

3. If the skater is fouled but still manages to maintain possession of the puck, the referee will delay the penalty call and allow the skater to complete his action.

4. If the fouled skater manages to score, the penalty shot will be cancelled. If the penalty being assessed was a minor penalty, it will also be cancelled by the goal, but if the penalty being assessed was a misconduct, major and automatic game misconduct, or match penalty, these will still be assessed.

5. If the referee signals a penalty shot, and before the play is whistled because of a goal or to call the penalty shot another foul is assessed to the same team, the additional penalty will be assessed regardless if the skater scores on either the play or the subsequent penalty shot.